David Warner Statements On His Retirement After Won World Cup 2023

David Warner Statements On His Retirement After Won World Cup 2023: Australian opener David Warner performed brilliantly in the ODI World Cup 2023.

Scored the most runs for his team and won the trophy for the sixth time by defeating title favorites India in the final on Sunday. Meanwhile, Warner has given a big reaction to a post made regarding his career.

With 535 runs in 11 innings of the ODI World Cup, Warner finished sixth in the list of top run scorers of the tournament. He also scored 2 centuries in the tournament and scored runs at an excellent strike rate of 108.30. After his memorable campaign, Warner has hit out at his critics on the X.

David Warner retirement post
Image Source: Twitter

David Warner Statements On His Retirement After Won World Cup 2023

In fact, ESPNcricinfo wrote a post with the records of David Warner’s ODI World Cup career, ending with a great record. Responding to this post, Warner wrote, ‘Who said I’m finished?’

Meanwhile, Warner will not be a part of the upcoming T20 series between India and Australia starting on Thursday. Warner is returning home after a long tour of India which started with the ODI series in the fourth week of September.

Cricket Australia said in a statement, ‘The selectors have decided that Warner will return home following a successful but challenging World Cup campaign.’

All-rounder Aaron Hardy has been called in his place for the five-match series, which will speed up their preparations for the T20 World Cup to be played next year. The team will be led by wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade. Apart from this, many star players have been given rest after the World Cup victory.

Australia will begin their home season with a Test series against Pakistan in December, which will be the last match of Warner’s career as the star opener has announced his decision to retire from the format.

Australia’s T20I team

Matthew Wade (captain), Aaron Hardy, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanvir Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, and Adam Zampa.

Read More Articles:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *