History of IPL: How Indian Premier League Starts? 2023

History of IPL: How Indian Premier League Starts?: Indian Premier League is a professional T20 cricket league, which is played almost every year in India.

The Indian Premier League is played from March, April to May. In this league, 8 teams play among themselves, representing the 8 metropolitan cities of India.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) established the league in 2008. Such is the dominance of the BCCI in the ICC that the IPL is given an exclusive window in the ICC’s Future Tours Program.

IPL is the most-watched league in the world. In 2014, it was ranked 6th in average attendance across all sports. In 2010, the Indian Premier League became the first sporting event to be broadcast live on YouTube.

In 2019, the brand value of IPL was estimated at ₹475 billion. According to the BCCI, the 2014 IPL season added ₹1150 crore to the Indian economy.

Till now there have been 15 seasons of IPL. The current title holder of IPL is the team Gujarat Titans who won the 2022 season.

So let’s move on to today’s main topic and read about the History Of IPL:

History Of IPL (Indian Premier League):

The league named Indian Cricket League (ICL) was formed in 2007 and was funded by Zee Entertainment Enterprises. The Indian Cricket League was played in India in 2007 and 2009.

India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, World XI, and 9 domestic teams of India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh participated in these two seasons.

This tournament was in T20 format. Later on, ICL was planning to organize a 50-over tournament as well, but it could not happen. (History of IPL) BCCI and ICC did not recognize ICL as they were not happy with this league.

To prevent players from playing in this league, BCCI doubled the prize money in domestic cricket and also banned the players participating in ICL from BCCI for life, due to which many players are unsure about their future.

On 13 September 2007, at a grand ceremony in Delhi, the BCCI announced its franchise T20 league, the Indian Premier League, which would be played from April 2008.

The mastermind behind this league is said to be the then Vice President of BCCI, Lalit Modi. Lalit Modi explained in detail to the media in Delhi the format of the tournament, prize money, franchise revenue system, and the rules for the inclusion of players in the team’s squad.

And also revealed that the governing body of IPL will have retired Indian cricketers and BCCI officials.

Lalit Modi also told the media that IPL is not being started all of a sudden with the aim of eliminating ICL, but the planning of IPL was going on for the last two years.

The format of the league is similar to England’s Football League and America’s NBA League. On 21 March 2010, it was revealed that two more franchises Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala would join the IPL for the fourth season.

But only a year after joining, on November 11, 2011, the BCCI showed the way out to Kochi Tuskers for not fulfilling the conditions.

On 14 September 2012, the BCCI also showed the way out to the 2009 champion Deccan Chargers due to not getting a new owner. Sun TV Network bought the Hyderabad franchise in an auction on 25 October 2012, which was renamed Sun Risers Hyderabad.

Pune Warriors India withdrew its name on 21 May 2013 due to financial constraints. On 26 October 2013, the BCCI officially declared that Pune Warriors were expelled for not being able to provide the required bank guarantees.

On 15 June 2015, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended for two seasons due to match-fixing and betting scandals. On 8 December 2015, teams from Pune and Rajkot were invited to replace both teams. These 2 teams were Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiant.

IPL Tournament Format:

Earlier eight teams used to play 2 matches with each other but now there is a total of 10 teams in IPL that play matches among themselves.

One at the home ground and one at the opposition team’s ground. The top 4 teams in the Indian Premier League stage qualify for the playoffs.

The top two teams play the first qualifying match, with the winning team booking a place in the final. While the other team gets a second chance, in the second qualifying match.

Meanwhile, the third and fourth teams play eliminator matches in which the winning team plays the loser of the first qualifying match in the second qualifying match. The winning team in the second qualifying reaches the final. The winning team in the final is awarded the IPL trophy.

Player Acquisition, Team Composition, And Their Salaries:

A team can be formed in three ways, by auction, by trading among themselves, or by buying the remaining players from the auction later. A base price is set for all the players in the auction. The team then bids to buy the player. The IPL players are awarded to the team with the highest bid.

Unsold players can also be bought later. During trading, the teams buy and sell among themselves. But this is possible only if the player agrees to it. (History of IPL)

Then the difference between the price given to him and the price to be given is divided between the player and the team. But all this has to be done before the start of the tournament, it cannot be done afterward.

Important Rules Related To Team Composition:

  • Teams can have a minimum of 18 players (Maximum 25).
  • The salary of the entire team together cannot exceed 85 crores.
  • Under-19 players can be included only if they have first-class cricket or List A experience.
  • The team can have a maximum of 8 foreign players.
  • The playing XI of the team can have a maximum of 8 foreign players.
  • The player’s contract will be for a minimum of one year and a maximum of two years.

Before 2014, the player was paid in dollars, but later auctions were given in Indian currency. Players are paid in the currency of their choice at the current exchange rate.

Rich franchises have been criticized for offering under-the-table deals to lure players, which is why the IPL started including domestic players in the auction.

According to a survey, the average salary of IPL comes second among all leagues in the world. The reason for this is that the players are associated only for two months in a year. Whereas in other leagues the contract is for the whole year.

IPL Prize Money:

In the 2019 IPL season, the winner has given Rs 20 crore, while the second team was given Rs 12.5 crore, and the third and fourth-placed team was given Rs 8.75 crore.

IPL has mandated that the team must distribute half of the prize money among the players. You should be aware that these rules are subject to change from time to time. (History of IPL)

Read More Articles:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *