How Rajasthan Royals Became The Champion Of IPL 2008?

Rajasthan Royals IPL 2008: Rajasthan Royals is the IPL team that won the title in the first season played in the year 2008.

Since then, the Royals have not won the title even once. Another special thing is that the Royals had defeated the Chennai Super Kings on the last ball at that time.

Rajasthan Royals won the title for the first time in IPL. After this, till now no title has been won in 15 years.

Rajasthan Royals won IPL on this day

In the year 2008, the final of the IPL was played on the 1st of June. The match was played at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Rajasthan Royals won the first title by defeating Chennai. The first season and winning the title in it is definitely a big deal.

Raina scored the most runs for Chennai

Royals captain Shane Warne won the toss and decided to field first. Batting first, Chennai scored 163 runs for 5 wickets.

Suresh Raina was the highest run scorer for Chennai Super Kings. Raina’s bat saw an inning of 43 runs in 30 balls. Yusuf Pathan took 3 wickets for the Royals.

Yusuf Pathan did wonders in batting

After showing his hands in bowling it was the turn of batting. Yusuf Pathan played a stormy innings for Rajasthan Royals.

He faced 30 balls and scored 56 runs to push the team towards victory. However, his dismissal also changed the situation and the match went till the last ball.

Sohail Tanvir scored a single off the last ball to take the Royals to a score of 164 for 7. Shane Warne was also at the other end. In this way, Chennai had to face defeat in an exciting match.

Rajasthan Royals never won again

After winning the title in the first season, the Royals did not get a chance to reach the final for 13 years. Finally, in the year 2022, Rajasthan Royals got a chance to play in the finals once again.

This time he had a new team Gujarat Titans in front of him. Gujarat defeated the Royals and broke the dream of winning the title for the second time.

Chennai became 5 times champion

After losing the first final, Chennai continued to achieve success. Chennai won back-to-back titles in 2010 and 11 under Dhoni’s captaincy.

After this Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title in 2018 as well. After 2021, this year in 2023, Chennai Super Kings won the title.

In this way, the winning team in the first final never reached back there and the losing Chennai won the title 5 times.

Read More Articles (Rajasthan Royals):

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *